Folk Art Matters is a series of lectures, presentations, and artist demonstrations that cover the deep cultural impulses that inform the inception and creation of folk art from around the world. All lectures are held at IFAM Headquarters: 620 Cerrillos Rd. Santa Fe, NM 87505. Lectures are free and open to the public.

 

Folk Art Matters, Spring 2019 Schedule, Coming Soon

 

Past Folk Art Matters Lectures

Jeff Snell, CEO, International Folk Art Market
Social Entrepreneurship + IFAM: Impacting the Global Artisan Sector
Thursday, February 15, 2018

Porfirio Gutierrez, Master Weaver in the Zapotec Tradition
Natural Dye Demonstration and Lecture
Thursday, March 15, 2018

Andrew Hale, Author, and Director of Anahita Gallery, Inc.
The Eternal Garden, Central Asian Embroidered Suzani: Myth, Magic, and Merchandise
Thursday, April 19, 2018

Suzanne Sugg, IFAM Director, Clothing and Accessories Designer
Textile Techniques and Treasures at IFAM
Thursday, May 17, 2018

Alden Zecha, founding partner at We Scale Impact
Counterfeit Items – Risks and Solutions
Thursday, June 21, 2018

Keith Recker, IFAM Creative Director
2018 IFAM Artist Preview and Brunch
Sunday, July 8, 2018

Kim Meredith and Mayor Alan Webber
Social Entrepreneurship: Inspiring Innovation in Business, Government and Nonprofits
Wednesday, July 11, 2018

Kathleen Kelly Janus
Social Startup Success: How to Maximize Impact for Social Causes: Lecture and Booksigning 
Thursday, July 12, 2018

Fred de Sam Lazaro (Under-Told Stories, PBS) Presented with Creative Santa Fe
Friday, July 13, 2018

Mary Anne Wise
Lecture and Book Signing
“Rug Money: How A Group of Maya Women Changed Their Lives Through Art and Innovation”
Thursday, October 18, 2018

Dr. Suzanne (Suzy) Seriff
Lecture
“Recycled, Re-Seen—Revisited: Critical Reflections on Folk Art from the Global Scrap Heap”
Thursday, December 13, 2018